Adorable Easter Basket!

Standard

Yesterday, my friend Mary and I sat down for a little crafting adventure! We were on a mission to create an Easter Basket for my 7 year old great-nephew. I had an idea that I wanted to try to create the basket by enlarging the purse card tote I had made last year to hold a bunch of Thank You cards. I wanted the basket to be  much larger than the purse tote. This is what we came up with! Isn’t it adorable?

Adorable Easter Basket

Adorable Easter Basket

The base of the basket measures 8 1/2 by 6 1/2 inches. It is scored at 1 inch on all sides.  I cut one side of each corner with my paper snips and slightly angled each of the tabs to make a cleaner fold.

I took my bone folder and scored all of the scoring lines. I then adhered the basket base together with Stampin Up’s Tear n Tape. Next you are going to want to make your basket sides with coordinating DSP of your choice. I chose a piece of DSP from the gorgeous collection Birthday Bouquet from the 2016 Occasions Catalog.

IMG_0098a

My basket base top and bottom bordering cardstock is Elegant Eggplant cardstock.

I cut two pieces of the DSP 3 by 12 inches each. I adhered Tear N Tape to the bottom of each 3X12 strip of DSP and on one piece I put Tear N Tape on each end.

I started adhereing the DSP to the base of the basket by starting one end in the middle of one of the shorter sides of the basket.(use the piece of DSP that has NO Tear N Tape on the ends) I wrapped it all around as far as I could go being careful to line the DSP up as best I could with the bottom of the basket. I then added the second piece of DSP WITH the Tear N Tape on the ends and continued around. Take off the Tear N Tape at each end and adhere. I creased the corners of the DSP after I had adhered it all with a ruler to give it a more rectangular shape.

IMG_0093a

For the bottom border of Elegant Eggplant cardstock, cut 2 pieces at 1/2 inch by 11 inches. Use the white gel pen and a ruler (if you need it…lol) to create the stitch lines on both pieces. Adhere to the bottom of the basket with Tear N Tape. For the top border of the basket…I cut two pieces of the cardstock at 1 inch by 11 inches and scored these at 1/2 inch for easy folding. Foldon your score line and repeat the stitching effect with your white gel pen on one side only. I adhered the top border with Tombow…it makes it easier to slide over the edge of the basket and gives you time to line it up. This may take a little time…practice getting it on the basket before you adhere it…just a little hint…lol!

IMG_0094a

Ok, so now the basket is done and all you need is the handle. For my handle I cut an 11 inch piece of White Organza ribbon. I thought the ribbon needed a little stiffness so I addedd a strip of whispher white cardstock cut at 11 by 1/2 inch. I scored that at 1/4 inch and used my bone folder for a crisp crease. I then adhered to the back of the ribbon with Tear N Tape…that did the trick!

Attach the handle of the basket with mini brads and extra Tear N Tape just in case. I added a bow at the bottom of each handle for the finishing touch. What do you think!

I was able to fit a ton of candy inside..perfect for us Great-Aunts to give our little great-nephews!!!

IMG_0095a

Thanks for stopping by and reading this blog..I hope you get to try one of these yourself! You can always create baskets for birthdays, graduations, anniversaries, any occasion really..this basket can be so versatile and was created with Stampin Up’s quality products!

Click on Shop Now at the top of this blog t order all the products to create a basket of your own! And for every $50 order you will receive the free tutorial below.

12804829_10208982864549769_7708937584019395177_n

Have  a great day and Happy Stamping!!!

Charlene

 

 

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

